A Thought From Today

I write this as I have my 8 year old sleeping next to me. Her cute little snores warm my heart. I took a picture of her a few minutes ago because when she sleeps I still see the little toddler face in her features. These are the only times I get glimpses of that fleeting past.

I remember watching my Grandma look at my dad when we would visit her the last couple years before she passed away. He was the youngest, her baby, and in my mother’s heart I could tell that she didn’t see him as the 60 year old gray haired man that he was but she saw him as her little Sammy. Oh how she lit up every time my dad came into the room. She would be happy to see all of us but you could tell there was something extra special with him.

I always ask my kids, “promise me you will always be my baby?” It used to be met with a resounding “Yes Mommy!” Now I can tell the “yes’s” are just to please me because they are excited to grow up. Little do my kids know that they have no choice in the matter. They will always be my babies. Of course they will grow up and have their own lives but when we get together I will light up and I know that I will still see them as my babies. Even when they have old hair and wrinkles too.

One thought on “A Thought From Today

Leave a comment