Back At It

I know I keep saying I want to write more this year but the fact of the matter is I already have, haha!! We are back into the swing of things with school. I really do a lot better with the consistency of work. While I love summer I just don’t think I’m quite disciplined enough for it. I feel like I am extremely disciplined on a few things and then the rest of my life I am not disciplined at all. It’s not very balanced. I think if I could change something about myself it would be that. I am trying to work on doing better though. Today was actually a very successful day. I was productive at work and then I came home and I stayed busy all afternoon. I didn’t lay down in bed and be on my phone all evening. I failed at my goal of decreasing screen time this summer. I am trying to decrease it again though. It’s no secret that I love twitter and I was contemplating if Twitter loves me back. That is how I am viewing the things in my life right now that I want to keep or remove, “Does this love me back.” The conclusion that I have come to is “yes” twitter does love me back. I have developed an amazing community there. The problem is though that I have not created good boundaries for it. Therefore I am not going to get rid of it all together but for the next week I am going to only check it from my laptop. I hope to do this for a month but let’s be real. I suck at this test the most, haha!

I am also implementing a no spend month. I have a few things that I need to spend on that I have already had plans for but other than that I am not buying anything new and I am going to buy healthy groceries with ingredients to make meals that my kids like and we all enjoy. I spend so much money eating out and I’ve also gained so much weight eating out. Something has got to give for both my health and my pocketbook.

I spent the last couple of years in kind of a plateau in all areas of my life. What was so interesting is I felt peace in that plateau. It was almost like God was saying, “rest” and I really feel like I did. God is always faithful and we do not have to perform for Him. I do want to be faithful to Him too though. I want to be a good steward of my time, body, children, money, friendships, etc. Not only does this benefit me even though it’s hard work I think it brings glory to God too…though honestly, I think my couple years of rest brought glory to Him too. I can’t do it on my own and life is journey. We are not going to be perfect and the beauty of God’s grace is that we don’t have to be.

One thought on “Back At It

Leave a comment